

KIRKBURTON PARISH COUNCIL

PRESS RELEASE

For immediate release

16th May 2014

PRESS RELEASE

Cllr Jimmy Paxton celebrates 40 years at Kirkburton Parish Council

Cllr Jimmy Paxton has served an amazing 40 consecutive years on Kirkburton Parish Council. He was first elected when the Parish Council was formed in 1974 as a result of the local government re-organisations, when the Parish Council took over from the Kirkburton Urban District Council.

He has served on every committee, most of them several times, and he has been Chairman twice in 1984 and in 2000.

At the Annual Meeting he was presented with a bottle of champagne by the Chairman, Cllr Cass Whittingham. Cllr Paxton said "I have enjoyed my time at the Council and have worked with some marvellous people. I have been very lucky

The state of the s

and I'm grateful to the people of Flockton, for re-electing me so many times."

Cllr Whittingham said "Jimmy is a very special person. He has done so much for his community and for the Parish Council itself, and he does it all with such enthusiasm."

- ends -

Contact: Angela Royle, Clerk – Tel: 01484 604391 Email: clerk@kbpc.co.uk

Office Hours: Monday and Thursday 9.30 am to 1.30 pm

An answering machine is available at other times, or messages can be sent by email to the above address.

Note for Editor: Kirkburton Parish Council consists of 11 villages: Farnley Tyas, Flockton, Grange Moor, Highburton, Kirkburton, Kirkheaton, Lascelles Hall, Lepton, Shelley, Shepley, Stocksmoor and Thurstonland. It has been in existence since the local government re-organisation in 1974.

